How do I backup the data on my PlayStation console?

✅ If you're returning your rental PlayStation back to us, it's always best to backup your data onto a USB or external hard drive. This saves your account and system settings so that setting up on a new PlayStation will be much faster.

What data can I back up on my PS4 console? 🎮

🌐 You can back up the following types of data saved to a USB or external hard drive:

🎲 Games and applications

📲 Saved data

📺 Screenshots and video clips

⚙ System settings

All of your user data is saved on your PS4 console is included in the backup. 

❗ At this stage, you will need to deactivate your PS4 from your account. If not, you'll have issues when signing in on another console to try and access or play your downloaded games.

How to deactivate my account from my PS4 console? 🎮

👇 To deactivate your account from your PS4 console, follow the steps below:

1️⃣ Go to Settings > Account Management > Activate as Your Primary PS4.

2️⃣ Select Deactivate Yes.

How do I create a backup of my data from my PS4 console? 🎮

👇 To backup your data on your PS4 console, follow the steps below:

Make sure that your USB or external hard drive is formatted to FAT or exFAT and has a minimum storage capacity of 128GB.

1️⃣ Insert your USB or external hard drive into your PS4 console

2️⃣ Go to Settings Application Saved Data Management

3️⃣ Select Saved Data in System Storage

4️⃣ Choose Copy to USB Storage Device

5️⃣ Next, select the files that you want to back up. You can select more than one file at a time by selecting Options Select Multiple

6️⃣ Select Copy and your chosen data will be transferred to your USB drive.

❗ IMPORTANT: Before performing the below backup to the PlayStation Plus Cloud, you will require a paid subscription to PlayStation Plus and a connection to the internet.

How do I create a backup of data using the PlayStation Plus Cloud? 🎮

👇 To backup your data using the PlayStation Plus Cloud, follow the steps below:

1️⃣ Go to Settings Application Saved Data Management

2️⃣ Choose Select Auto-Upload

3️⃣ Choose the data you'd like to be uploaded automatically to the PlayStation Plus Cloud

⚙ Once your data has been backed up, you'll need to restore the console back to its factory settings. 

❗ PlayStation Trophies are not included in the backup data. To save Trophies you've earned to the PlayStation Network servers, select Trophies from the Function screen, press the OPTIONS button and then select Sync Trophies with PSN.

❓ Further information on resetting your PlayStation to factory settings can be read here

Sustainable_banner.JPG

Have more questions? Contact Us