❗ Before factory resetting your PlayStation console, make sure that you've backed up your data so that it can be stored and transferred at a later date. If you reset your console without backing up your data, it may be lost and unable to be recovered.
❓ Further information on backing up the data on your PlayStation console can be read here.
✅ Now you've backed up your data and deactivated your PlayStation from your account, you'll need to reset it back to factory settings. It ensures that no data is left on it and can be processed much quicker once we receive it back.
How do I factory reset my PS4 console? 🎮
👇 To factory reset your PS4 console, follow the steps below:
1️⃣ Sign back into your PS4 as you normally would
2️⃣ Go to the Settings menu
3️⃣ Select the Initialisation option and you'll see two options:
▶ Restore Default Settings. This option will clear your saved settings data and return the PS4 to its factory settings, but it won’t wipe your hard drive.
▶ Initialise PS4. This will do the same as above, but also completely wipe your PS4’s hard drive. This means it’ll delete games, save data, and anything else you’ve downloaded or saved to your PS4 over the years.
4️⃣ Select Initialise PS4 and select Full.
✅ You'll see a progress bar of the process in motion. It could take a couple of hours to be fully wiped.